Research Centers

Research Centers

ECE is a leader or primary participant in 19 interdisciplinary research centers, ranging from solar power to high-speed telecommunications. These entities offer many opportunities for corporate partnerships and for enhancing educational experiences for undergraduate and graduate students.Please note that each center is responsible for the maintenance of its own site.


Arbutus Center for the Integration of Research and Education develops systems that enable distributed research and education, supports the Vertically Integrated Projects (VIP) program, and explores new technologies for learning and interacting.
      Edward J. Coyle, Director
      Randal T. Abler, Associate Director


The Center for Co-design of Chip, Package, System conducts leading-edge research in system architecture, planning, modeling, and implementation of design, as well as advancing emerging device and interconnect technologies.

The Center is organized into program specific areas where faculty with complimentary expertise work on application driven technologies. An overview of the Center's programs can be found on our research pages.
      Madhavan Swaminathan, Director


Center for Compound Semiconductors is a focal point for research and educational collaborations in the Georgia Tech community related to compound semiconductors, including conventional and nanotechnology materials and devices.
      Russell D. Dupuis, Director


Center for Energy & Geo Processing creates innovative research practices and entrepreneurship-based education in the area of digital processing of geo signals and energy data. The center is a partnership between the School of ECE at Georgia Tech and the Department of Electrical Engineering at King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals (KFUPM) in Saudi Arabia. 
      Ghassan AlRegib and Ali Ahmad Al-Shaikhi, Directors


Center for Experimental Research in Computer Systems is an industry-supported center and focuses on the design and evaluation of the next generation of interactive information grids via prototyping and experimentation. This center is a partnership between ECE and the College of Computing.
      Sudhakar Yalamanchili and Douglas Blough, Co-Directors– ECE
      Calton Pu, Co-Director - CoC


Center for MEMS and Microsystems Technologies is dedicated to advancing state-of-the-art technologies in microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) and microsystems.
      Mark AllenFarrokh AyaziOliver BrandBruno Frazier, Co-Directors


Center for Organic Photonics and Electronics is an interdisciplinary resource for research and education in flexible organic and photonic materials and devices that support the information technology, energy, and defense sectors.
      Bernard Kippelen, Director


Center for Signal and Information Processing conducts research and education in digital signal processing with applications in telecommunications, man-machine communications, medical technology, radar and sonar, and seismic data analysis.
      James H. McClellan, Director


Communications Systems Center performs research in Internet-protocol networks, digital two-way CATV, and wireless network systems and also develops new technologies for network security.
      John A. Copeland, Director


Georgia Electronic Design Center fosters growth in the broadband telecommunications industry and aims to establish Georgia as a world leader in the design of broadband communication systems, devices, and chips.
      Stephen Ralph, Director
     John D. Cressler, Associate Director


Georgia Tech Broadband Institute/Center for Optical Wireless Applications conducts research on broadband connectivity for home and community networks and on integrated designs of personal information devices.
      G.K. Chang Director


Georgia Tech Information Security Center educates future researchers, policy makers, and information security leaders, and trains current professionals in the most up-to-date methods for securing information systems. Center personnel also invent and evaluate key innovative user-centric security technologies and policies.


Interactive Media Technology Center is a research, design, and education center focusing on digital media processing applied to technology, education, culture, and medicine.
      Mark A. Clements, Director


Intelligent Power Infrastructure Consortium is a university-industry-utility consortium that forms a focal point for the academic teaching and research program in advanced power technologies at Georgia Tech. IPIC provides a mechanism to foster and accelerate the development and adoption of early-stage, pre-competitive, high-risk, and high-impact technologies in power applications.
      Deepak Divan, Director


Materials and Devices for Information Technology Research is a multi-university NSF center dedicated to serving the research and education needs in the broad field of molecular photonics, an area of critical national interest.
      Larry Dalton, Director
      Bernard Kippelen, Associate Director


National Electric Energy Testing Research and Applications Center is a membership-centered organization engaged in pre-competitive research and development and testing for the electric energy industry.
      Richard A. Hartlein, Director


3D Systems Packaging Research Center is the largest university-based research and education center focusing on next generation, system-level packaging of electronics. The Center is sponsored by the National Science Foundation.
      Rao R. Tummala, Director

TESSAL Center 

Teaching Enhancement via Small-Scale Affordable Labs (TESSAL) Center develops portable, affordable lab experiments into lecture-based courses throughout the ECE curriculum. Areas covered include signals and systems, sensors, control systems, power systems, and computer engineering. 
      Bonnie Ferri, Program Director
      Doug Williams and Jennifer Michaels, Co-Directors


University Center of Excellence for Photovoltaics Research and Education is a U.S. Department of Energy-supported center engaged in research and development in advanced photovoltaic materials and devices aimed at accelerating the development of cost-effective photovoltaics.
      Ajeet Rohatgi, Director

Last revised March 7, 2017