Updates on the campus response to coronavirus (COVID-19)

Recent News

ECE Professor Sung-Kyu Lim

Lim Appointed as Motorola Solutions Foundation Professor

ECE Professor Sung-Kyu Lim named Motorola Solutions Foundation Professor, effective April 1, 2022.

Four ECE Graduates Honored at CoE Alumni Awards

ECE graduates Garrett Langley B.E.E. ’09, Carmel Ortiz B.E.E. ’89, James G. Pope B.E.E. ’65, and Ronald L. Yancey B.E.E. ’65 were honored.

Michael Leamy (faculty, ME), Michelle Warren (student, ECE), Braeden Dickson (student, ECE), Gerardo Garcia-Ramos (student, ME), Antonia Antoniou (faculty, ME)

The U.S. Department of Energy, General Motors and MathWorks Announce Georgia Tech Selected to Participate in the EcoCAR EV Challenge

The next DOE-sponsored Advanced Vehicle Technology Competition (AVTC) set to begin in Fall 2022.

ECE’s 2022 Roger P. Webb Awards Celebrates Students, Faculty and Staff

The 2022 awards recognized 52 students, five staff members and four faculty members.

Georgia Tech professor David Citrin (right) and adjunct professor Alexandre Locquet stand in front of an image of the 16th-century funerary cross used in their study.

Terahertz Imaging Reveals Hidden Inscription on Early Modern Funerary Cross

Researchers used terahertz imaging and signal processing techniques to look beneath the corroded surface of a 16th-century lead funerary cross, revealing an inscription of the Lord's Prayer.

A Conversation with Jim Carreker

Discovery how the EE graduate and entrepreneur started his technology business, pivoted to become a hotelier, and gives back to Georgia Tech and ECE. 

Remembering Emeritus Regents Professor Kendall Su

A quiet, self-effacing, and gentle man garnered the respect and admiration of all who knew him or of him, and leaves us with an enduring legacy.

Create-X: Engine for Student Entrepreneurship

Since it’s creation in 2014, Create-X has served 5,000 students generating $100 million in venture capital.

Georgia Research Alliance, Catalyst for Entrepreneurship

The GRA has been a significant factor in bringing outstanding faculty to Georgia’s research institutions, especially ECE.

In recognition of their roles as trailblazers, Tech’s first Black students — Lawrence Williams, Ralph Long Jr., and the late Ford Greene, along with the first Black graduate Ronald Yancey — were awarded the 2022 Ivan Allen Jr. Prize for Social Courage on April 20 at the Biltmore Ballroom in Atlanta. 

Pictured left to right: State Rep. David Wilkerson, Ronald Yancey, Ralph Long Jr., Lawrence Williams, and Frankie Hall, wife of the late Ford C. Greene.

Georgia Tech Trailblazers Awarded the 2022 Ivan Allen Jr. Prize for Social Courage

Tech's first enrolled Black students and first Black graduate receive one of the Institute's top honors.