Updates on the campus response to coronavirus (COVID-19)
Photo file: 
photo of Ian Akyildiz
Full name: 
Ian F Akyildiz
Job title: 
; Byers Professor in Telecommunications
Technical Interest Groups: Telecommunications (Group Chair)
Email address: 
Work phone: 
Cent 5170

Ian F. Akyildiz received his B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in computer engineering from the University of Erlangen-Nuernberg, Germany, in 1978, 1981, and 1984, respectively. He is the Ken Byers Professor with the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology, where he chairs the telecommunications group and leads the Broadband Wireless Networking Laboratory.

Within the last five years, Dr. Akyildiz has been named to several honorary faculty positions around the globe. In 2013, he was appointed as a FiDiPro Professor (Finland Distinguished Professor Program) at Tampere University of Technology (TUT), Department of Communications Engineering and the founder of the Nano Communications Center; FiDiPro is supported by the Academy of Finland. Since 2008, Dr. Akyildiz has been an Honorary Professor with the School of Electrical Engineering-Telecom BCN at Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya in Barcelona (Spain) and the founder of the N3C (NaNoNetworking Center in Catalunya). Dr. Akyildiz has also served as a consulting chair professor with the King Abdulaziz University, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia since 2011. Between 2009-12, he was an honorary professor with the Department of Electrical, Electronic, and Computer Engineering at the University of Pretoria, South Africa and founded the Advanced Sensor Networks Lab.

Dr. Akyildiz currently serves as editor-in-chief of Computer Networks Journal and as founding editor-in-chief of Ad Hoc Networks Journal, Physical Communication Journal, and Nanocommunication Networks Journal. He is a former editor for IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Kluwer Journal of Cluster Computing, ACM-Springer Journal for Multimedia Systems, IEEE Transactions on Computers, and ACM-Springer Journal of Wireless Networks.

Dr. Akyildiz was the technical program chair of the Ninth IEEE Computer Communications Workshop in 1994, ACM MobiCom '96 (Mobile Computing and Networking) Conference, IEEE INFOCOM '98 (Computer Networking Conference), and IEEE ICC 2003 (International Conference on Communications). He also was the general chair for the premier conference in wireless networking, ACM MobiCom in 2002. He is the co-founder of the ACM SenSys (Sensor Systems) Conference and was general co-chair of the ACM SenSys in 2003. He was also the general chair for the Third Med Hoc (Mediterranean Conference on Ad Hoc Networks) in Bodrum, Turkey in 2004, and the general chair for the IFIP Networking 2007 Conference in Atlanta.

Research interests: 
  • Nanonetworks
  • Long Term Evolution (LTE) Advanced Networks
  • Cognitive Radio Networks
  • Wireless Sensor Networks
  • IEEE Fellow (1996) "for contributions to performance analysis of computer communication networks"
  • Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) (1997) "for fundamental research contributions in: finite capacity queuing network models; performance evaluation of Time Warp parallel simulations; traffic control in ATM networks; and mobility management in wireless networks"
  • 2002 IEEE Harry M. Goode Memorial Award (IEEE Computer Society) "for significant and pioneering contributions to advanced architectures and protocols for wireless and satellite networking"
  • 2009 Best Paper Award for "Interferer Classification, Channel Selection and Transmission Adaptation for Wireless Sensor Networks" in the Ad Hoc and Sensor Networks (AHSN) symposium at IEEE International Conference on Communications (ICC), June 2009
  • 2010 Best Paper Award for "Deployment Algorithms for Wireless Underground Sensor Networks using Magnetic Induction" in the IEEE Global Communications Conference (Globecom), December 2010
  • 2010 IEEE Communications Society Ad Hoc and Sensor Networks Technical Committee (AHSN TC) Technical Recognition Award with the citation: "For pioneering contributions to wireless sensor networks and wireless mesh networks", December 2010
  • 2003 ACM SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award for his "pioneering contributions in the area of mobility and resource management for wireless communication networks"
  • 2004 Georgia Tech Faculty Research Author Award for his "outstanding record of publications of papers between 1999-2003"
  • 2005 Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award, Georgia Tech, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 2009 Georgia Tech Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Advisor Award
  • 2009 ECE Distinguished Mentor Award
  • 2011 IEEE Computer Society W. Wallace McDowell Award for "pioneering contributions to wireless sensor network architectures and communication protocols," May 2011
  • 2011 TUBITAK (Turkish National Science Foundation) Exclusive Award for "outstanding contributions to the advancement of scholarship/research at international level"

Akyildiz, I. F., Jornet, J. M., and Pierobon, M. "Nanonetworks: A New Frontier in Communications," Communications of the ACM, vol. 54, no. 11, pp. 84-89, November 2011.

Akyildiz, I. F., Sun Z., and Vuran, M. C., "Signal Propagation Techniques for Wireless Underground Communication Networks," Physical Communication (Elsevier) Journal, vol. 2, no. 3, pp.167-183, September 2009.

Akyildiz, I. F., Melodia, T., and Chowdury, K. R., "Wireless Multimedia Sensor Networks: A Survey," IEEE Wireless Communications Magazine, December 2007.

Akyildiz, I. F., Lee, W.Y., Vuran, M.C., Mohanty, S., "NeXt Generation/Dynamic Spectrum Access/Cognitive Radio Wireless Networks: A Survey," Computer Networks (Elsevier) Journal, September 2006.

Akyildiz, I. F., Su, W., Sankarasubramaniam, Y., and Cayirci, E., "Wireless Sensor Networks: A Survey", Computer Networks (Elsevier) Journal, vol. 38, no. 4, pp. 393-422, March 2002.

Last revised June 21, 2019

Map of Georgia Tech

Georgia Institute of Technology
North Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30332
Phone: 404-894-2000