John Cressler Appointed to Schlumberger Chair in Electronics

Atlanta, GA
John Cressler

John Cressler was the recipient of the 2013 Georgia Tech Class of 1934 Distinguished Professor Award.

Download Image

John D. Cressler has been appointed to the Schlumberger Chair in Electronics, effective July 1. He has been on the faculty of the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Georgia Tech since 2002.

Dr. Cressler is interested in the understanding, development, and application of new types of silicon-based, bandgap-engineered microelectronic devices and circuits for high-speed electronics in emerging 21st century communications systems. Widely recognized as one of the world's foremost experts in silicon-germanium (SiGe) technology, he has graduated 37 Ph.D. students (including 28 from Georgia Tech) and 37 M.S. students (including 28 from Georgia Tech). Dr. Cressler’s former students hold university faculty positions and occupy high-level management or principal engineering positions across the microelectronics industry. His technical contributions have helped pave the foundation of a worldwide industry in SiGe transistor technology that generates multi-billion dollar sales globally.

Dr. Cressler and his team have published over 550 refereed journal and conference papers, 29 book chapters, and six books (including his debut historical novel, Emeralds of the Alhambra). In serving his professional community, he is involved with four different IEEE professional societies and is currently editor-in-chief of the IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices, the flagship journal of the IEEE Electron Devices Society. He has previously served as associate editor for the IEEE Journal of Solid-State Circuits and the IEEE Transactions on Nuclear Science

An inspirational teacher and gifted mentor, Dr. Cressler was honored this spring with the Class of 1934 Distinguished Professor Award, the highest honor that can be bestowed upon a faculty member at Georgia Tech. He has also received the 2011 IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Graduate Teaching Award, the 2010 Georgia Tech Class of 1940 W. Howard Ector Outstanding Teacher Award, the 2007 Georgia Tech Outstanding Faculty Leadership for the Development of GRAs Award, and the 1996 C. Holmes MacDonald National Outstanding Teacher Award (given by Eta Kappa Nu).

Last revised August 1, 2017