Updates on the campus response to coronavirus (COVID-19)

Recent News

Gregory Villiam Junek

Junek Selected as GEM Fellow

Gregory Villiam Junek has been selected as a GEM Fellow based on his academic record, prior awards, and current Ph.D. research.

Fei Wang

Wang Chosen for IEEE SSCS Predoctoral Achievement Award

Fei Wang has been chosen to receive the 2019-2020 IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society (SSCS) Predoctoral Achievement Award, the highest honor for Ph.D. students from the IEEE SSCS.

Georgia Tech has announced an agreement to join the IBM Q Hub at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory to advance the fundamental research and use of quantum computing. (IBM photo)

Georgia Tech Collaborates with IBM to Develop Software Stacks for Quantum Computers

Georgia Tech has agreed to join the IBM Q Hub at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

A red laser creates nonlinear effects with tiny triangles of gold. The blue beam shows the frequency-doubled light and the green beam controls the hot-electron migration. (Credit: Rob Felt, Georgia Tech)

Laser Pulse Creates Frequency Doubling in Amorphous Dielectric Material

Researchers have demonstrated a new all-optical technique for creating robust second-order nonlinear effects in materials that don’t normally support them.

Title of Doctor Honoris Causa Bestowed upon Meliopoulos

ECE Professor A.P. Sakis Meliopoulos was awarded the title of Doctor Honoris Causa (Honorary Professor) of the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) at the National Technical University of Athens in Athens, Greece.

Materials Today Innovation Award Winner Russell Dupuis (center) with the Editors-in-Chief of Materials Today, Jun Lou (Rice University, left) and Gleb Yushin (also of Georgia Tech, right)

Dupuis Honored with Materials Today Innovation Award

ECE Professor Russell D. Dupuis was presented with the Materials Today Innovation Award at the 2019 Materials Research Society Fall Meeting and Exhibit, held December 1-6 in Boston, Massachusetts. 

Azadeh Ansari

Ansari Tapped for NSF CAREER Award

ECE Assistant Professor Azadeh Ansari has been named as a recipient of the National Science Foundation CAREER Award.

Devin Brown 

Brown Selected for EIPBN Best Student Poster Paper Award

Devin Brown was selected for the Best Student Poster Paper Award at the International Conference on Electron, Ion, and Photon Beam Technology and Nanofabrication (EIPBN).

Three ECE Ph.D. Students Receive CSIP Outstanding Research Awards

John Lee, Afshin Abdi, and Motaz Alfarraj were presented with Outstanding Research Awards from the Center for Signal and Information Processing (CSIP).

ECE Senior Stories: Fall 2019

This fall, 141 seniors in the Georgia Institute of Technology's School of Electrical and Computer Engineering will walk across the stage and receive their diplomas. We've done a Q&A with five of them.