Updates on the campus response to coronavirus (COVID-19)

Butera Receives ANAK Award at the 2019 Faculty and Staff Honors Luncheon

Atlanta, GA

Robert Butera, associate dean for Research & Innovation in the College of Engineering, was honored with the ANAK Award at the 2019 Georgia Tech Faculty and Staff Honors Luncheon. This annual event was held on April 19 at the Student Center Ballroom.

A member of the Georgia Tech faculty since 1999, Butera is a professor in both the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering and the Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering. A 1991 B.E.E. graduate of Georgia Tech, Butera attended graduate school at Rice University in Houston, Texas, receiving the M.S.E.E. in 1994 and Ph.D. in 1996. Prior to joining the CoE Dean’s Office, Butera directed the Neural Engineering Center (2014-2016). He previously served as founding faculty director of the Grand Challenges Living Learning Community (2012-2015) and director of the Interdisciplinary Bioengineering Graduate Program (2005-2008).  

Since 1942, and annually since 1947, the ANAK Society has given this award to a faculty member at Georgia Tech who has demonstrated outstanding service to the Institute and to the student body through teaching, research, advisement, and general involvement in campus life. Founded in 1908, ANAK’s purpose is to recognize outstanding members of the Georgia Tech community for their strong character, leadership ability, and true love for Georgia Tech. ANAK strives to advance the Institute in its mission of progress and service.

ANAK is the oldest known secret society and honor society at Georgia Tech. Membership in the Society is made public upon a student's graduation. ANAK offers several scholarships and recognitions to members of the Georgia Tech community, such as the Semmes Scholarship. For more information on the ANAK Award, visit the ANAK Society webpage.

Photo cutline: Pictured with Robert Butera are Andrea Vargas (right), president of ANAK, and Lynn Durham (left), ANAK faculty advisor and associate vice president and chief of staff for the President's Office.

Last revised July 15, 2020