Three Faculty Members Honored with CTL Award

Atlanta, GA

John D. Cressler, Magnus Egerstedt, and Benjamin Yang have been chosen for the Georgia Tech Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) Class of 1940 Course Survey Teaching Effectiveness Award. They will be formally recognized on March 8 when CTL holds its annual Celebrating Teaching Day.  

This Class of 1940 distinction is one of several awards made annually by CTL to instructors of small and large classes. The award recognizes faculty members with exceptional response rates and scores on the Course-Instructor Opinion Surveys (CIOS). A high response rate (85 percent or greater) and a near-perfect evaluation score were also required for consideration.

Cressler is being recognized for his outstanding teaching in IAC 3803 Science, Engineering, and Religion: An Interfaith Dialogue. He holds the Schlumberger Chair Professorship in Electronics in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE).

Egerstedt is being recognized for his outstanding teaching in ECE 6553 Optimal Control and Optimization. He holds the Julian T. Hightower Chair Professorship in the School of ECE.

Yang is being recognized for his outstanding teaching in ECE 2026 Introduction to Signal Processing. A frequent instructor of ECE courses, Yang is a senior research engineer in the Georgia Tech Research Institute’s Electro-Optical Systems Laboratory.

Last revised February 6, 2018