Updates on the campus response to coronavirus (COVID-19)

Akyildiz Tapped for IEEE Communications Society Award

Atlanta, GA

Ian F. Akyildiz has been named as the recipient of the 2017 IEEE Communications Society Technical Committee on Cognitive Networks (TCCN) Recognition Award. The award will be presented at IEEE GLOBECOM 2017, which will be held December 4-8 in Singapore. 

Akyildiz is being recognized “for pioneering contributions to spectrum sensing, spectrum sharing algorithms, and communication protocols for cognitive radio networks.” He holds the Ken Byers Chair Professor in Telecommunications in the Georgia Tech School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) and has been a member of Tech’s faculty since 1985.

Akyildiz chairs the telecommunications technical interest group in ECE and leads the Broadband Wireless Networking Lab. In addition to his work in cognitive radio networks, he conducts research in nanonetworks, Long Term Evolution (LTE) advanced networks, and wireless sensor networks. 

The goal of TCCN is to provide a platform for its members and the cognitive networking research, development, policy making, and standardization community to interact and exchange technical ideas to identify major challenges and also drive solutions in the development of cognitive networking technologies. Technical issues addressed by the committee include spectrum agile/dynamic spectrum access networks, related issues from PHY to application layers, security issues, policy issues (e.g., spectrum policy reform by U.S., Canada and European Union), implementation technologies (e.g., software radio, middleware), economic considerations, and standardization activities.

Last revised July 14, 2020