Recent News

Five ECE Faculty Members Honored with CTL Award

John D. Cressler, Lukas Graber, Tushar Krishna, Sung Kyu Lim, and Benjamin Yang have been chosen for the Georgia Tech Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) Class of 1940 Course Survey Teaching Effectiveness Award.

Qi Wins IEEE RFID-TA Best Paper Award

ECE Ph.D. student Cheng Qi received the best student paper award at the IEEE RFID-TA 2018 conference, held September 26-28 in Macau, SER China.

Sam Coogan

Coogan Tapped for AFOSR Young Investigator Award

ECE and CEE Assistant Professor Sam Coogan has been chosen for an Air Force Office of Scientific Research Young Investigator Award.

Students show donors and guests the equipment in the new Texas Instruments Makerspace in the Van Leer Building.

Georgia Tech Opens Newest Student Makerspace

The Van Leer Interdisciplinary Design Commons is the largest electronics-oriented student makerspace in the country.

A robot from Georgia Tech's Robotarium on display at the Ethics in Robotics roundtable on Sept. 25, 2018

Drones, Driverless Cars and Difficult Decisions

Georgia Tech hosts a panel discussion in Washington, D.C. about the emerging debate on ethics and robotics.

Wilbur Lam, M.D., Ph.D. is part of a research center, funded by the National Institutes of Health, that will develop and translate microelectronics-based point-of-care (POC) technologies for patient care. 

NIH Selects Point of Care Technologies Center at Emory, Georgia Tech for Research Network, $7M grant

The Atlanta network will assist and enable inventors of POC technologies

Vince Calhoun, Ph.D.

Calhoun Named the Founding Director of the Center for Translational Research in Neuroimaging and Data Science

The Center is a tri-institutional effort supported by Georgia State, Georgia Tech, and Emory University

Xiaojing Liao

Liao Named Runner-Up for ACM SIGSAC Doctoral Dissertation Award

Georgia Tech ECE alumna Xiaojing Liao has been named as a runner-up for the 2018 ACM SIGSAC Doctoral Dissertation Award.

Jingfan Sun

Sun’s Paper Selected among Top 5 for NGN Competition

Jingfan Sun and Maryam Saeedifard had their paper selected as one of the top five for the 2018 Next Generation Grid Network (NGN) Paper Competition.

Syed Abdullah Nauroze

Nauroze Wins Top Prize at IMS 3MT Competition

ECE Ph.D. student Syed Abdullah Nauroze won the Three-Minute Thesis (3MT) Competition, held at the International Microwave Symposium in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania from June 10-15, 2018.