2017 News

Christina Bourgeois

Bourgeois, Moore Honored with Eta Kappa Nu Outstanding Teacher Awards

ECE faculty members Christina M. Bourgeois and Elliot Moore, II were honored with Eta Kappa Nu Outstanding Teacher Awards on April 21 at the annual Eta Kappa Nu Spring Picnic.

Garay Chosen for National GEM Consortium Fellowship

ECE Ph.D. student Edgar Garay has been chosen for the National GEM Consortium Fellowship. 

Marc Higginson-Rollins

Higginson-Rollins Wins URSI Young Scientist Award

Marc Higginson-Rollins, a second-year Ph.D. student in the Georgia Tech School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), has won a Young Scientist Award from the International Union of Radio Science (URSI).

Nicholas Gross

Gross Selected for Sam Nunn Security Fellowship

Nicholas Gross, a third-year Ph.D. student in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), has been selected as a Sam Nunn Security Fellow by the Georgia Tech Center for International Strategy, Technology, and Policy.

'Master of Information Security' Degree Expands Across Three Colleges

New master of science degree recognizes broad scope of cybersecurity.

ECE Professor Ghassan AlRegib (left) with Associate Vice President for Development Marta Garcia

Nine ECE Faculty, Seven ECE Students Honored at Georgia Tech Awards Programs

Nine ECE faculty members and seven ECE students were honored at Georgia Tech awards programs on April 20 and 21. 

ECE Buzz

ECE Employees Recognized with Years of Service Awards

Eight employees from the Georgia Tech School of Electrical and Computer Engineering were honored with Years of Service Awards at the 2017 Service Recognition Reception, held on April 11 at the Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel.

George Tzintzarov receives the Love Family Foundation Scholarship award from Rafael Bras, provost and executive vice president for Academic Affairs at the Georgia Institute of Technology.

ECE Student Awarded Institute’s Top Accolade

Electrical engineering student George Tzintzarov was awarded this year’s Love Family Foundation Scholarship for his outstanding scholastic record at the Georgia Tech Student Honors Celebration on April 20, 2017.

Nelson Lourenco

Three ECE Graduates Win Sigma Xi Ph.D. Thesis Awards

ECE's Nelson Lourenco, Reza Pourabolghasem, and Dogancan (Can) Temel were chosen for Sigma Xi Best Ph.D. Thesis Awards, which were presented at the Georgia Tech Sigma Xi Awards Banquet on April 18.

2017 ECE Undergraduate Student Award Winners

ECE Faculty, Staff, and Students Honored at the 2017 Roger P. Webb Awards Program

On April 18, the Georgia Tech School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) held its 16th annual Roger P. Webb Awards Program, which honors the students, staff, and faculty who have shown exceptional dedication to their professions and studies.